Print Friendly and PDF
Follow

Application / Role Management Overview

The Application / Role Management section allows you to control in fine detail the types of data various users are able to see, and what actions they can perform.  In this section you can:

  • Create different roles for your users.
  • Indicate what applications, features and functions each role should have access to.
  • Assign users to these roles.

For existing VETtrak users upgrading from a previous version, the upgrade process will automatically add to your database a number of roles corresponding to the VETtrak modules you already have. If you are happy with the access to VETtrak that your users currently have, you do not need to do anything, as your users will be automatically assigned to the role that corresponds to their current level of access.

For new installations of VETtrak, you will see two roles already set up for VETtrak access:

  • VETtrak default role - has full access to all functions and features that you hold licences for, and can add, edit and delete any data.
  • VETtrak default read-only role - has full access to all functions and features, but can only view data. Users with this role cannot add, edit or delete anything.

Expand a role to see a tree listing of each of the features you have a licence for. Then expand a feature to see a detailed listing of access levels to each item within that feature. For most things in VETtrak, there are four levels of access that a user can have:

  • V - View - the user can look at this at item, but not make any changes to it, or add or delete items.
  • E - Edit - the user can make changes to existing items, but not add new ones or delete existing items
  • A - Add - the user can add new items.
  • D - Delete - the user can remove any of these items.

We can see what permission a role has for various items according to the letters shown next to that item in the tree.

For example, in the Sample Role that has been expanded in the screenshot below, the user is able to:

  • View clients and edit their details, but not add new clients or remove any clients.
  • View classifications, positions and visa types, but not change them, add new ones or delete them.
  • Edit a client's education history, or add new education history items, but not remove any education history.
  • View full details about staff members, but not make any changes at all relating to staff members.

There are three steps in setting up a role:

  1. Creating the role.
  2. Setting what features the role has access to.
  3. Setting the permissions for individual items within each feature.

 NEXT: Creating a New Role

Back to Top
    Tags:
  • security
  • roles
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.